homemade salad dressings
family,  Food,  Health,  parenting

20 Must Try Homemade Salad Dressings

Homemade salad dressings can be tastier and healthier for you and your family. Here are some of the best homemade salad dressing recipes I have found. There’s no better time than the spring and summer to start making some of these. With farmer’s markets opening this month you can easily find the fresh vegetables and natural herbs close to home.

homemade salad dressings
Amazing homemade salad dressings

Due to high blood pressure readings that came back three times in a row late last year I have tried hard to revamp my diet and lifestyle. First thing to go out the window entirely was salt. Happy to say I don’t miss it that much. Then I began reading labels with more scrutiny. Now if the product is boxed or packaged and it is high in sodium it doesn’t make it into my house. It has been enlightening to see what contains sodium and what doesn’t. Dairy is mostly okay. Bread can be extremely high in sodium. I trimmed caffeine down as well. That was hard because I love my coffee. But happily I also have adjusted to drinking LOTS of caffeine free teas. Prepackaged frozen foods from popular retailers are extremely high in sodium. So they rarely make it into my house anymore. Cooking heart healthy has meant that I need to plan a bit better than I used to do for meals. I believe we are getting there together as a family.

One thing I keep promising myself to do is make homemade salad dressing. Salad dressings can be extremely high in sodium. Each one is different but many have way too much sodium in them. I assume that is because pre-packaged bottles salad dressings sit on the grocery store shelf for months sometimes. Although I keep promising myself that I will make homemade salad dressings myself I have yet to find recipes I like and I have not committed fully to this yet either. So, this past week I decided to roundup a pile of great recipes for homemade salad dressings and post them here on my site so that I can use them and bookmark them forever.

Have you ever made homemade salad dressings? What is your favourite recipe for homemade salad dressing? Which one of these would you choose to try?

Must Try Salad Dressings –

Like Mother, Like Daughter – Poppy Seed Dressing – http://lmld.org/2013/05/02/cranberry-almond-and-spinach-salad-w-poppy-seed-dressing/

Our Best Bites – Red Wine Poppy Seed Vinaigrette – http://ourbestbites.com/2014/10/blackberry-pear-salad-with-red-wine-poppy-seed-vinaigrette/

Cherished Bliss – Homemade Healthy Ranch – http://cherishedbliss.com/homemade-healthy-ranch/

Like Mother, Like Daughter – Raspberry Vinaigrette – http://lmld.org/2014/05/12/raspberry-vinaigrette-dressing-2/

Eat Drink Love – Skinny Parmesan Dressing – http://eat-drink-love.com/2015/05/skinny-parmesan-dressing/

Recipe Girl – Blue Cheese Salad Dressing – http://www.recipegirl.com/2007/03/29/blue-cheese-salad-dressing/

The Ktichen McCabe – Toasted Sesame Ginger Dressing – http://thekitchenmccabe.com/2013/10/01/toasted-sesame-ginger-dressing/

Raining Hot Coupons – Restaurant Italian Salad Dressing – http://www.raininghotcoupons.com/restaurant-italian-salad-dressing-amazing-home/

Pinch of Yum – Honey Mustard Dressing – http://pinchofyum.com/rainbow-chicken-salad-almond-honey-mustard-dressing  and http://www.pinchofyum.com/

Cookie and Kate – Honey Lime Dressing – http://cookieandkate.com/2014/kale-clementine-feta-salad-honey-lime-dressing/

The Little Epicurean – Carrot Ginger Salad Dressing – http://www.thelittleepicurean.com/2014/02/carrot-ginger-salad-dressing.html

Our Best Bites – Pepper Jelly Vinaigrette – http://ourbestbites.com/2014/07/pepper-jelly-vinaigrette-salad/

Southern Krazed – Orange Vinaigrette – http://southernkrazed.com/2014/01/mandarin-orange-spinach-salad-orange-vinaigrette-dressing/

Consumer Queen – Cilantro Lime Dressing – http://consumerqueen.com/my-royal-kitchen/cilantro-lime-dressing

Healthy Delicious – Sundried Tomato Vinaigrette – http://www.healthy-delicious.com/meat-free-friday-smoked-mozzarella-salad-with-sundried-tomato-vinagrette/

Dishin and Dishes – Garlicky Vinaigrette – http://www.dishinanddishes.com/warm-mushroom-salad-with-garlicky-vinaigrette/?doing_wp_cron=1431362609.5220611095428466796875

Tammi Lee Tips – Creamy Poppy Seed Dressing – http://www.tammileetips.com/2014/11/fall-kale-super-salad/

Say Not Sweet Anne – Simple Strawberry Vinaigrette – http://www.saynotsweetanne.com/2014/simple-strawberry-vinaigrette/

Our Best Bites – Thai Peanut Dressing – http://ourbestbites.com/2009/07/thai-peanut-dressing/

I Was Born to Cook – Simple Grapefruit Vinaigrette – http://iwasborntocook.com/simple-grapefruit-vinaigrette/

Related articles across the web

Mom of two beautiful active girls, traveller, fitness junkie, social media consultant, and keeper of the sanity.

43 Comments